DRAFT: Subsection 17(1.3) of the *Conservation Authorities Act* (CAA) Application for Minister's Exception (Chair and Vice-Chair Provisions)

Please complete the following table and submit to the Minister at <u>minister.mecp@ontario.ca</u>, along with:

- a covering letter, and
- clear statement of the request from the authority membership through a resolution of the authority or from the council of the participating municipality through a council resolution (as applicable)
- meeting minutes and details of a recorded vote on that resolution.

Item	Details from Applicant
Name of participating municipality or conservation authority submitting application	Grand River Conservation Authority
Composition of Authority:	
Total number of the authority membership	26
Number of participating municipalities in the authority	22
For each participating municipality, the number of appointed municipal council	Township of Centre Wellington 1 council member City of Guelph
members and non-municipal council members	• 2 council members Region of Waterloo
	 8 council members 2 non-council members
	Halton Region 1 council member City of Hamilton
	1 non-council member Oxford County
	1 council member County of Brant
	• 2 council members City of Brantford
	 2 council members Haldimand County and Norfolk County
	• 2 council members Group 1: Town of Grand Valley, Townships of Amaranth,
	East Garafraxa, Melancthon, Southgate1 council member
	Group 2: Townships of Mapleton and Wellington North1 non-council member

Item	Details from Applicant
	Group 3: Municipality of North Perth and Township of Perth East • 1 council member Group 4: Town of Erin, Townships of Guelph-Eramosa and Puslinch • 1 council member
Proposal details:	
Statement of the request for an exception (e.g. seeking an exception under clause 17(1.3) (a), 17(1.3) (b) of the CAA or both etc.).	Request for an exception under clause 17(1.3)(a) of the Conservation Authorities Act
Which participating municipality(ies) does the candidate for chair and/or vice- chair represent(s).	Chair – Group 4: Township of Guelph-Eramosa, Town of Erin, Township of Puslinch Vice-Chair – Region of Waterloo
Whether the candidates for chair and/or vice-chair are members of municipal council or non- elected municipal appointees.	The current Chair and Vice-Chair are both members of municipal councils
Service time to date of the chair and/or vice-chair incumbents in the role whose terms are proposed to be extended.	The current Chair and Vice-Chair were both elected for their second one-year term on January 28, 2022
Detailed rationale, including local circumstances, for the Minister to consider as to why an exception is needed.	 See attached letter Requesting that a chair or vice-chair may be elected for a maximum of four (4) consecutive one-year terms A maximum of two consecutive one year terms of the Chair is not an adequate amount of time to fully understand the operation of the Conservation Authority. A maximum of four years is consistent with terms of municipal council and typical provincial and federal terms The Chair and Vice Chair are elected through an annual transparent, democratic election process; therefore, members have the ability to enact a governance leadership change if they so choose. Prior to the legislative change, the GRCA By-law provided for the Chair and Vice-Chair to hold the same office for up to a maximum of five one-year terms and had operated that way for several years.

Relevant wording in the Conservation Authorities Act

Chair, vice-chair

17 (1) At the first meeting held in each year or at such other meeting as may be specified by the authority's by-laws, the authority shall appoint a chair and one or more vice-chairs from among the members of the authority. 1996, c. 1, Sched. M, s. 43; 2017, c. 23, Sched. 4, s. 14.

Term of chair, vice-chair

(1.1) A chair or vice-chair appointed under subsection (1) shall hold office for a term of one year and shall serve for no more than two consecutive terms. 2020, c. 36, Sched. 6, s. 4.

Representation from each municipality

(1.2) An authority in respect of which more than one participating municipality has been designated shall appoint chairs and vice-chairs from among the members appointed to the authority by each participating municipality on a rotating basis so as to ensure that a member appointed to the authority by a particular participating municipality cannot be appointed to succeed an outgoing chair or vice-chair appointed to the authority by the same participating municipality. 2020, c. 36, Sched. 6, s. 4.

Exception

(1.3) Despite subsections (1.1) and (1.2), upon application by an authority or a participating municipality, the Minister may grant permission to the authority or participating municipality to, subject to such conditions or restrictions as the Minister considers appropriate,

- (a) appoint a chair or vice-chair for a term of more than one year or to hold office for more than two consecutive terms; or
- (b) appoint as chair or vice-chair of the authority a member who was appointed to the authority by the same participating municipality that appointed the outgoing chair or vice-chair. 2020, c. 36, Sched. 6, s. 4.